FAQ: Maintaining Your Privacy

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017 11:27AM PDT

Your privacy is important to us. UserTesting doesn't share your personal information (such as your name and email address) with outside entities, unless you provide us with express permission to share your personal information for a specific purpose. But, your videos are shared with our customers so please do not reveal any information during a test that you do not want to share.



Do I need to take a test that asks for my personal information?
​You can accept or decline any test that becomes available to you. If you choose to complete a test that asks you to enter your name, address, or email address you can use fake information.

Can I enter fake information?
Yes, you can enter in fake personal information during the test. You can also use a fake mailing address and a free email account (e.g. Hotmail, Gmail, Yahoo) to use just for testing purposes.

You can also use a fake mailing address. If you want to ensure that it’s valid, look up an address for a city office in your area and use this address when testing.

What if I accidentally show my information with Chrome auto-fill? What if my information is automatically filled in?
If you don’t want your Chrome autofill to show during your test, please turn it off before you begin.

To turn off autofill on Android:

  1. Open the Chrome app
  2. At the top right, tap More ⋮ > Settings.
  3. Tap Autofill and payments.
  4. Turn off Autofill forms.

To turn off autofill on a computer:
  1. Open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More ⋮ > Settings.
  3. At the bottom, click Advanced.
  4. Under "Passwords and forms," turn off Autofill settings.

To turn off autofill on iOS:
  1. Open the Chrome app.
  2. At the top right, tap More ⋮ .
  3. Tap Settings > Autofill forms.
  4. At the top, tap the slider to the off position.
  5. To turn Autofill back on, tap the slider back to the on position.

You may also want to save a set of fake information to use on tests, you can read more about how to do that on Google Chrome Help here: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/142893

What if a test asks for my real information?
If a test requires you to use your REAL information, make sure you see the following message when you accept the test:



If you see the above message, this means that one or more tasks will be blurred on the video. It won't appear blurred while you enter your information. This process occurs after your video uploads to our servers. We do this so anyone who views your video cannot see your sensitive information. It will look like this:



Also make sure that the task asking you to enter personal information says it will be blurred. Any actions you take before or after that task will not be blurred.



If you don't see this message AND the task(s) asking for your personal information don't say your information will be blurred, DO NOT continue with the test. Please click the "Help" or "?" button to report a problem.

What if a test asks me to purchase something?
You should never purchase something with your own information while testing. If the tasks provide financial information please complete the task as instructed. If you are asked to purchase something using your own information during a test, please quit the test and report a problem.

For more information on how UserTesting uses your information, see our Privacy Policy. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at support@usertesting.com.

 

entsupport@usertesting.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete